

EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 732, CUTTACK, MONDAY, APRIL 3, 2023 / CHAITRA 13, 1945

[No.3346–SM-FE-0109/2022/SM] STEEL & MINES DEPARTMENT

RESOLUTION

The 3rd April, 2023

Subject- Re-organisation of the Directorate of Minor Minerals, Odisha

The Directorate of Minor Minerals was created under the administrative control of Revenue & Disaster Management Department, Government of Odisha in their Resolution No.2360-RDM-LRGEC-POLICY-0002/2018/R&DM dated, 13.08.2019 to look after the management of minor minerals other than the specified minor minerals for its scientific and sustainable management and to augment the revenue of the State from the minor minerals. Subsequently, Government in General Administrative Department in their notification no. 32882/Gen dt. 21.11.2022 have transferred the management of minor minerals to the administrative control of the Steel & Mines Department by notifying the amendment to the Odisha Government Rules of Business. Consequent to this, the Directorate of Minor Minerals is being re-organised with the renewed objectives of efficient management of minor minerals sources of the State through technological intervention and scientific management so as to augment revenue of the State from minor minerals sector and also to prohibit & curb illegal exploitation and transportation of minor minerals. The Directorate of Minor Minerals shall function as a separate and independent Directorate under the Steel & Mines Department. For financial management, the Director, Minor Minerals shall be declared as Controlling Officer having a separate DDO under the Directorate. Transfer of records of minor minerals sources from the officials of Revenue & DM Department to the officers of Steel & Mines Department shall be effected as per the manner and modalities decided by the Government from time to time.

- 2. The functions of this Directorate shall be as below:
 - i. Identification of the minor minerals sources in a scientific manner.
 - ii. Administration and management of minor minerals sources of the State through the network of offices in the mining circles/ MO offices in different districts and through the officers such as Deputy Director, Mines / Mining Officers / Asst. Mining Officers/ Jr. Mining Officers posted in such offices for minor minerals management as decided by Government from time to time.
 - iii. Preparation of mining plan & environmental management plans of the identified sources, as per the applicable laws in a time bound manner.
 - iv. Facilitating the fixation of additional charge and lease/ settlement of the identified sources in a transparent manner following the process of e-tendering.
 - v. Implementation of i4MS software for carrying out e-auction of minor minerals sources along with regulating and facilitating quarrying and transportation of minor minerals from the lease hold areas in a transparent manner without any illegal quarrying and transportation of minor minerals from such lease hold areas
- vi. Establishment and functioning of PMU for operationalization and maintenance of i4MS software and such other works as required from time to time.
- vii. Prevention of illegal quarrying & lifting of minor minerals sources through periodic enforcement/ raids.
- viii. Administration of the Odisha Minor Mineral Concession Rules,2016 as amended from time to time in respect of minor minerals other than specified minor minerals.
- ix. Augmentation of collection of revenue from minor minerals sources.
- x. Protection of government interest in Court cases involving minor minerals sources of the State and all other matters connected with administration of minor minerals other than specified minor minerals.
- Establishment of the Directorate:The Directorate shall have the following manpower, as below:
 - a. There shall be an officer who shall function as Director of Minor Minerals, in the Selection Grade or Super-time Scale of IAS Cadre or in the rank of SAG/ SS in OAS Cadre.

b. Besides, there will be other officers and staff as below:

SI.	Category	No. of Posts
No.		
1	Joint Director (Administration) in the rank of Dy.	01
	Secretary / Joint Secretary in OAS Cadre	
2	Financial Advisor and Chief Accounts Officer in the rank	01
	of Dy. Secretary / Joint Secretary in OFS Cadre	
3	Joint Director (Technical-Water resources) in the rank of	01
	AEE/ Executive Engineer.	
4	Joint/ Deputy Director (Technical-Geology) in the rank of	01
	JDG/DDG from Odisha Geological Service Cadre.	
5	Joint/ Deputy Director (Technical-Mining) in the rank of	01
	JDM/DDM from Odisha Mineral Administrative Service	
	Cadre.	
6	Joint/ Deputy Director (Technical Forest & Environment)	01
	in the rank of DFO in OFS Cadre	
7	Joint/ Deputy Director (Enforcement) in the rank of DSP	01
	from OPS Cadre	
8	Section Officer from Heads of Department Cadre	02
9	Senior Assistant / ASO in Heads of Department Cadre	04
10	PA to Director	01
11	Senior / Junior Steno	04

c. The aforesaid posts which have been created vide Revenue & DM Department Resolution No.2360-RDM-LRGEC-POLICY-0002/ 2018/ R&DM dated 13.08.2019 shall continue to be under the administrative structure of the Directorate of Minor Minerals, Odisha, Bhubaneswar.

By Order of the Governor DEORANJAN KUMAR SINGH Additional Chief Secretary to Government

Printed and Published by the Director, Printing, Stationery and Publication, Odisha, Cuttack-10 OGP/SBP Ex.Gaz.17-183+XX