

### EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 1686, CUTTACK, THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 6, 2018 / BHADRA 15, 1940

# SECRETARIAT OF THE ODISHA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

#### **NOTIFICATION**

The 5th September, 2018

No.8385/L.A.—The following Bill which has been introduced in the Odisha Legislative Assembly on the 5th September, 2018 is herewith published under Rule 68 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Odisha Legislative Assembly for general information.

# THE ODISHA MINISTERS' SALARIES AND ALLOWANCES (SECOND AMENDMENT) BILL, 2018

## A

#### **BILL**

## FURTHER TO AMEND THE ODISHA MINISTERS' SALARIES AN ALLOWANCES ACT, 1952.

BE it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Odisha in the Sixty-ninth Year of the Republic of India as follows:-

Short title and commencement.

- 1. (1) This Act may be called the Odisha Ministers' Salaries and Allowances (Second Amendment) Act, 2018.
- (2) It shall be deemed to have come into force on the 1<sup>st</sup> day of April, 2018.

Amendment of section 5.

2. In the Odisha Ministers' Salaries and Allowances Act, 1952, in section 5, for the words "one hundred rupees per mensem" the words "one thousand rupees per day" shall be substituted.

Odisha Act 20 of 1952.

### STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

The Members of Odisha Legislative Assembly are entitled to accommodation allowance of one thousand rupees per day till allotment of Government quarters. But the members of council of Ministers have been drawing House Rent Allowances at the rate of one hundred rupees per mensem till allotment of the quarters,

Keeping in view the disparity, the House Rent Allowance admissible to Minister has been raised fromone hundred rupees per mensem to one thousand rupees per day till allotment of Government quarters at par with the accommodation allowance admissible to Members of the OLA. This expenditure is one time during the formation of new Government.

The Bill seeks to achieve the above objectives.

(BIKRAM KESHARI ARUKHA)

Member-in-Charge

A.K. SARANGI
Secretary
Odisha Legislative Assembly

Printed and Published by the Director, Printing, Stationery and Publication, Odisha, Cuttack-10