

Gazette

## EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

## No. 582 CUTTACK, SATURDAY, APRIL 2, 2016/CHAITRA 13, 1938

## HOME (SPECIAL SECTION) DEPARTMENT

ORDER

## The 22nd March 2016

**S. R. O. No. 135**/2016—Whereas, the State Government are satisfied that in the interest of Public, it is necessary to prohibit strikes in the form of cessation of work by the Doctors, Nurses, Paramedics, Technicians, other Class III and Class IV employees etc. including contractual employees in services/engagements connected with maintenance of medical services in the Government Hospitals and dispensaries in the State like District Head Quarters Hospitals, Sub-Divisional Hospitals, Area Hospitals, Community Health Centers, Primary Health Centers Municipality Hospitals, E.S.I. Hospitals etc. including Medical Colleges & Hospitals run by Government and other Autonomous Health Institutions receiving Grant-in-aid from State Government specifically AHRCC, Regional Spinal Injury Centers including Jail Hospitals, Police Hospitals etc. so that health care delivery system in the State is not affected/distupted.

Whereas, as per Section 2 (b) of the Act, strike means the cessation of work by a body of persons employed/engaged in any essential service acting in combination or a concerted refusal or a refusal under a common understanding of any number of persons who are or have been so employed/engaged to continue to work or to accept employment and includes unauthorized absence from duty in pursuance of a common understanding among the persons who unauthorized absent themselves from duty or under the direction of any other person or persons.

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 3 read with Section 2 of the Odisha Essential Services (Maintenance) Act, 1988 (Orissa Act 9 of 1992), the State Government do hereby prohibit strikes in the aforesaid services. The order shall remain in force for a period of six months with effect from 26th March 2016.

[No.678—C.] By order of the Governor LALIT DAS Special Secretary to Government